Janet Robinson Receives Outstanding School Superintendent Award

STORRS — Superintendent of Schools Janet Robinson received the Outstanding School Superintendent Award from the Neag School of Education Alumni Society of the University of Connecticut at its 15th Annual Awards Dinner, on March 9.

Dr Robinson was selected for the award prior to the events of 12/14, according to the Neag School of Education. Robinson earned her PhD in education leadership from the Neag School of Education in 2006.

As stated by Dr Linda Gejda in her letter of nomination, “Janet has mentored educators, who aspire to the superintendency and is open and available to all, whether parent, community member or colleague, who seek to learn more about various facets of the education setting. Janet is a reflective practitioner and models professionalism for her staff: she is continuously [listening] to local, national, and international conversations about education, and recognizes the value in communities of practice.”

Dr Robinson holds a bachelor of arts degree in sociology from California State University at Long Beach, and also earned a master of science degree in counseling, and a school psychologist certificate at the same institution.

Dr Robinson has served as superintendent for Newtown Public Schools for five years. At its March 5 meeting the Board of Education announced it had received Dr Robinson’s letter of resignation. The school board then voted at its meeting on Tuesday, April 9, to have former Newtown superintendent of schools John Reed begin his term as acting interim superintendent on May 6, when Dr Robinson will begin a vacation. Dr Robinson’s resignation will be effective on June 28; she has accepted the position as superintendent of schools in Stratford.

In addition to receiving the award, Dr Robinson will be honored by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA). She is a member of the AASA, Connecticut Center for School Change, CAPSS Technology Committee, CAPSS International Education Committee, and the National Superintendent’s Round Table.

In a letter to UConn alumni, Neag School of Education Dean Thomas C. DeFranco wrote in January that the 15th Annual Awards Dinner would be memorable “as faculty and alumni gather to formally recognize the achievements of some of our outstanding graduates. Our award recipients are educators who have made significant contributions across all levels of education. We know that you will agree with our outstanding selection of alumni to honor.”

Other awards given out during the evening were Outstanding Higher Education Professional, Outstanding Kinesiology Professional, Outstanding Physical Therapy Professional, Outstanding School Educator, Outstanding School Administrator, Outstanding Young Professional, Outstanding Professional, and Outstanding Alumni of the Year.

For more information about Neag School of Education or the Neag School Alumni Society Awards Dinner, visit www.education.uconn.edu.

You must register or login to post a comment.