‘Seussical’ Being Staged This Weekend

Seussical: The Musical is set to take the stage at Newtown High School this weekend, with performances on Friday and Saturday, August 9 and 10, at 7 pm, and Saturday and Sunday, August 10 and 11, at 2 pm.

Seussical: The Musical, written by Tony Award-winning team Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, was chosen as the inaugural production of the 12.14 Foundation, a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization based in Newtown. The foundation started with the vision of creating a performing arts center in town, “to honor those lost in the tragic events of December 14, 2012, at the Sandy Hook Elementary School,” reads its website, www.1214foundation.org.

Emmy Award, Tony Award, and Drama Desk Award nominated John Tartaglia will portray “The Cat in the Hat” and lead a cast comprised of 86 Newtown area students.

The three main forces behind “From Broadway With Love: A Benefit Concert for Sandy Hook,” which took place in January in Waterbury, are reprising their roles for this production. Michael Unger is directing, Jeffrey Saver is serving as musical director, and Tony Award-winning producer Van Dean is executive producing.

The 12.14 Foundation was founded by Michael Baroody, MD, a plastic surgeon and resident of Newtown. The board includes Richard Pilbrow, Frederick Holahan, Richard Ticktin, and Michael Price.

Seussical: The Musical incorporates many of Dr Seuss’s popular characters into one story, which follows the Cat in the Hat telling the story of Horton, from Horton Hears a Who!

Seussical: The Musical has two casts. The full list for its “Lorax” cast has Jane Shearin as Jojo, Kyle Watkins as Horton the Elephant, Brianna Bauch as Gertrude McGFuzz, Kirsten Liniger as Mayzie La Bird, Juliana Koziol as Sour Kangaroo, Kieran Minor as the men’s ensemble mayor, Marina Kolitsas as the women’s ensemble mayor. The women’s ensemble bird girls will be played by Madi Aug, Alison Kron, Madison Lemone, Michelle Spaneda, Brainna Velky, and Abbi Winters. The men’s ensemble/Wikersham Brothers will be played by Cal Creeden, Sean Dalton, Michael Hudak, and C.J. Landgrebe.

The full list for the “Sneetch” cast has Nicole Kolitsas as Jojo, Willem Sandercox as Horton the Elephant, Lexi Tobin as Gertrude McFuzz, Claire Alexander as Mayzie La Bird, Emily Crebbin as Sour Kangaroo, Joey DeVellis as the men’s ensemble mayor, and Miranda Wakeman as the women’s ensemble mayor. The women’s ensemble bird girls will be played by Kyra Alvarez, Mattie Kelly, Kristen Scheuermann, Brittany Watson, Megan Watts, and Michelle Zarififs. The men’s ensemble/Wickersham Brothers will be played by Austin Isola, Matt Johnson, Nick Madden, and Kyle Mangold.

The dance ensemble for both casts are Emily Bivona, Kristin Burnell, Emma Short, and Jerusha Wright.

The girl’s young ensemble members for both casts are Emily Abrams, Paige Armstrong, Dakota Alvarez, Ava Baroody, Sophia Baroody, Shanice Barth, Morgan Beaty, Aeryn Correia, Isabella Correia, Chelsea Calderbank, Emily Delp, Laura Delp, Faith DeMaio, Lindsay Dievert, Phoebe Doscher, Joan Gogliettino, Reece Beaty, Max DiMeglio, Charlie Dunn, Marty Dunn, Craig Hoekenga, Matthew Hoekenga, Aubrey Hankin, Talia Hankin, Katherine Hatcher, Lauren Jacobs, Grace Popkins, Eliza Roth, Maya Renkert, Sophia Soriano, Lauren Smiley, Rayna Toth, Audrey Trahan, Danielle Vigneau, Reese Wheat, Lauren Young, Jessica Zheng, Sophia Zimmerman, Josh Parsons, Mark Sadowski, Michael Spanedda, Kyle Trahan, Connor Weiss, and Nick Williams.

Tickets are available for purchase online and are still available at www.1214foundation.org/seussical. Tickets for adults are $20, students and senior citizens are $15.

More stories like this: 1214 Foundation, Seussical the Musical
You must register or login to post a comment.