NHS National Merit Scholarship Commended Students Named

Published: October 06, 2018 at 07:00 am


Newtown High School Principal Dr Kimberly Longobucco celebrated eight students who have earned Commended Student recognition from the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program at the school on October 2.

Students Audrey Benson, Stephanie Cobb, Justin Kahn, Jetson Ku, Robert Morrill, Hailey Pankow, Danika Rasmussen, and Michael Yu all received the honor for demonstrating outstanding performance on the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The students were gathered in the school’s guidance department for the announcement. Dr Longobucco shared her congratulations with each of the students for the accomplishment as gathered school administrators and guidance counselors clapped and cheered for the students.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, 34,000 high performance test takers were named as Commended Students nationally. Each of the students receive a letter of commendation for the accomplishment.

Change Text Size:

This Week's Poll

Which would you rather have to put up with?