Log In

Reset Password

Snapshot: Alexa Griffin



Text Size

Family: I live with my partner, Michael. My mom is Dana, who just moved to Newtown too, so she’s nice and close by.

Pets: I have two cats, Maisie and Happy, and I love them to death. They’re my tiny fur babies.

How long have you lived in Newtown? We bought our house and moved here in February 2021.

Career: I work for the Town of Newtown Department of Human Services. I just started in October, as a social worker. I absolutely love doing that kind of work.

Are you part of any local organizations? Through work, I’m part of Newtown Prevention Council. It’s been interesting, being part of that group that’s trying to bring healthier and safe lifestyles to town. It’s a really cool group.

What do you like to do with your free time? I love reading, so I’m constantly at the library. I also like hiking when it’s nice weather, and I really enjoy cooking with my partner. We just started cooking together and it really makes it a lot easier.

Favorite book? I have a new book that has become my favorite. I borrowed it from the library and I liked it so much I went out and bought it. It’s called The Power by Naomi Alderman. It’s very empowering for women, and I think it’s cool because it puts a different perspective on what gender has power, and what the world would look like if it switched. I think it’s very thought-provoking.

Who or what has been the greatest influence on your life? My mom. Being a single parent, she really showed me how much one person can do on their own. I always knew that I could do anything because my mom did it all. She’s a cool lady.

Who is your favorite actor? Kevin Bacon. I love me some Kevin Bacon. I found Footloose as a young girl and it only bloomed from there.

What is your favorite movie genre? Horror movies, and Kevin Bacon plays a great bad guy.

Favorite music genre? Classic rock. Mom raised me on all that music.

Do you have a favorite music performer? Today it’s Ed Sheeran. I love music that tells a story, and he’s good at that.

Favorite color? Seafoam.

What is something you cannot live without? My glasses. I couldn’t go a day without these.

What is your proudest accomplishment? Being able to buy a house was a big deal for me. My mom and I always rented, so this was a big deal for me. My mom also just bought her first, so Newtown has brought us our first homes.

What is your favorite travel destination? Anywhere in the Caribbean. Give me the blue ocean and some hot sand and I’m happy.

What is your favorite part about Newtown? All of the greenery. There are so many places to take a hike or a walk. Everything is so walkable or accessible, which is nice.

What would you like to see covered or written about more in The Newtown Bee? Open space opportunities. There was an article recently about some guys who manage the open space in Newtown and that was really cool because I learned about farms in the area that I could go to and visit. I loved reading that (“ABCs Of Newtown: O Is For Open Space,” January 26, 2024). I’m always looking for new places to explore.

Do you have a personal credo? It takes a village. Having grown up with a single parent, I saw how important it is to have supports — whether they’re family, or friends, or organizations — so I think it’s really important to be able to rely on other people

Alexa Griffin —Bee Photo, Hicks
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply