Log In

Reset Password

Nighthawk Wrestlers Set Tourney Record As They Gear Up For Postseason



Text Size

Newtown High School’s wrestling team, on February 3, won the Colchester-based Bacon Academy Matt Bishel Bobcat Classic for the second year in a row with a tournament-record 287 points. The Nighthawks put eight wrestlers in the finals and came out with six tournament champions, which put them 56 points ahead of Killingly, the No. 7 ranked team in the state. It was the fifth tournament win of the season for Newtown. Fisher Stites was awarded the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament.

This win came on the heels of Newtown’s 75-6 victory over visiting Masuk of Monroe on January 31, a match that featured nine Nighthawk pins: Tommy Milligan, Shaun Daoust, Grayson Renkert, Antonio Arguello, Jake Maddox, Marc Maurath, Fisher Stites, Thomas Morgan, and Charlie Dunn. Andrew Corey also picked up a 10-5 decision.

On February 5, Newtown won South-West Conference Colonial Division title with a 63-15 win over host Brookfield-Shepaug. Newtown (16-0 dual record, 8-0 SWC) is hosting the 12-team SWC Championship Tournament for the first time in 17 years when matches take place Saturday, February 10.

Highlights from the Matt Bishel Bobcat Classic

First place: Kenna Gioffre (120), Jake Maddox (150), Marc Maurath (157), Fisher Stites (165), Charles Dunn (190), Jon DaSilva (285).

Second place: Tommy Milligan (106), Thomas Morgan (215).

Third place: Dante Ames (126), Shaun Daoust (132), Antonio Arguello (144).

Fourth place: Grayson Renkert (138).

Sixth place: Brayden Ayles (285).

Thomas Morgan earns a win in Newtown’s victory over Masuk on January 31. —Bee Photos, Hutchison
Tommy Milligan, top, tangles with his counterpart from Masuk.
Marc Maurath, left, competes for the Nighthawks.
Andrew Corey, left, tangles on the mat.
Antonio Arguello, left, battles for the Hawks.
Charlie Dunn, right, wrestles for Newtown.
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply