Log In

Reset Password

Hawk Sluggers (And Pitchers) Aim For Championship Success



Text Size

It may be a couple years removed from the last time Newtown High School’s baseball team has been on the diamond, but Coach Ian Thoesen is optimistic his squad can build off the success it had back in 2019.

The Nighthawks were undefeated in the South-West Conference during regular season play before falling short of a conference crown and finished second in the Class LL state rankings; they reached the state quarterfinals.

“The goal for the season is to make sure everyone stays healthy and to win an SWC and state championship,” Thoesen said.

They say pitching and defense wins championships, but Thoesen is hopeful the formula of pitching and offense can carry this team to the pinnacle of each tournament. Newtown’s hurlers and its bats are its biggest strengths, the coach said.

Newtown’s captains are shortstop/right-handed pitcher Jack Petersen, outfielder Charlie Eppers, first baseman CJ Demers, and pitcher Tom Tavar. Catcher Grayson Defelice is another key returnee.

“Very excited about being back. We have a lot of depth on this team. The kids are excited to get back on the field,” Thoesen said.

Tough SWC teams the Hawks will face include Bethel — which has won each of the last two titles, beating NHS in 2018, a year after the Hawks beat Bethel for the title — as well as New Milford and New Fairfield, the coach anticipates.

The Nighthawks are scheduled to open the slate with three straight road games: April 10, at New Milford, at 1 pm; April 12, at Bethel, at 4:30 pm; and Wednesday, April 14, at Masuk, at 4 o’clock. The first home game is April 16, when Notre Dame-Fairfield visits at 4 pm.

Spencer Chard throws a pitch as Jack Warner stands in position at first base. —Bee Photos, Hutchison
CJ Demers takes his lead off first base during Newtown’s scrimmage with Trumbull on April 6, as the Nighthawks get ready for the regular season.
Jack Warner delivers a pitch to home plate.
Baseball captains are, from left: Charlie Eppers, Jack Petersen, Thomas Tavar, and CJ Demers.
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply