Log In

Reset Password

Making A Statement: Baseball Teams Shine In Tournaments



Text Size

All five Newtown baseball teams in the 8U to 12U age divisions made it to state tournament play this week with district tourney success in late June.

Newtown 12U reached the semifinals of the Cal Ripken District 2/3 Tournament and went 3-2 overall. With a 12-0 win over RHAM in the quarterfinals, the 12U team qualified for state play.

The 11U squad made it to the championship game of the district tournament but fell 7-4 to West Hartford. Throughout the tournament the 11U team was led by the hitting of James Trubiano, Cameron Kullgren (four home runs), Paul Adams, Justin Twitchell, and Maksim Dul. The pitching was also on point with Kyle Duncan, James Goyette, Jacob Kelly, and Michael Murphy setting the tone along the way.

Newtown 10U also made it to the district championship winning four games. Offensively, the team was led by Jake Coscia, Shane Rekos, Connor Duras, Jack Boxberger, and Gavin Leonard. Slowing down the other team’s batters from the mound were Dalton Albert, Zach Milkovic, Shea Platt, and Antonio Puebla. Kyle Field, Bryce Pacuk, and Noah Blair all made clutch plays in the field.

The 9U team went 6-0 in the pool play before the state tournament and grabbed the No. 1 seed. Newtown’s 8U lineup won its first two games in the state tournament and reached the semifinals. (There were no district tournaments for 8U so they have begun state play earlier than the other age groups.)

Members of the 10U baseball team are, from left, front: Shea Platt, Connor Duras, Kyle Field, Shane Rekos, Bryce Pacuk, Noah Blair, Gavin Leonard, Antonio Puebla, Jake Coscia, Jack Boxberger, Dalton Albert, and Zach Milkovic; and back: Coaches Steve Platt, Rich Rekos, Jeff Pacuk, and Andy Milkovic.
The 11U team members are, from left, front: Jacob Goyette, Conor McGee, Jacob Kelly, and James Trubiano; second row: Paul Adams, Chase Connell, Michael Murphy, and Dylan Potter; third row: Justin Twitchell, Maksim Dul, Cameron Kullgren, and Kyle Duncan; and back: Coaches Ryan McGee, Christopher Kelly, Michael Duncan, and Brandon Adams.
U12 team representatives are, from left, front: Hudson Tinkler, Luke Libero, JP Santacroce, Max Carta, Jacob Stratford, and Liam O’Neil; middle: Sean Caron, Mikey Trudeau, Mikihel Mohigel, Tre Garvin, Evan DePasquale, and Henry Laughlin; and back: Coaches Dennis Stratford, Nate Carta, Pete DePasquale, and TJ Garvin.
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply