Log In

Reset Password

Snapshot: Hanna Roehrs



Text Size

Occupation: I am a homemaker, babysitter, dog-sitter, and weaver. I was a lab technician, but I stopped working in the lab after we had our two sons. They are close in age, and I helped with the kids in preschool and kindergarten. I worked for six years part-time at Ferris Acres Creamery, and that was a great job. Now I take care of the home. My husband travels a lot for work, and it makes it very convenient for us that I can stay home.

Family: My husband’s name is Ingo. Our two sons, Mario and Timo, live close by. Our oldest son, Mario, lives in Danbury with his wife, Natalie, and daughter, Ella. Our youngest son, Timo, lives in Nanuet, New York.

Pets: None of my own. We owned a German shepherd, but he passed away. Now I take care of Mario’s German shepherd a lot.

How long have you lived in Newtown? For 23 years.

What do you like to do in your free time? I enjoy weaving and playing tennis. I started a weaving group in town called Weaving Newtown in 2012. We meet every Monday evening from 6 to 9 pm. Everyone is invited to come. We meet at the Newtown Congregational Church in the lower level.

Do you have a favorite book? I don’t have a favorite, but I like to read books that I bring home from my travels.

What is your favorite travel destination? I like to visit foreign countries where I can find a history of fiber-related cloth or fabric. I’ve traveled to Peru, Guatemala, Ecuador, and recently to Bhutan and India. I’ve also seen a lot museums with historic fabrics and cloths in Germany.

What is the best part about Newtown? I like living in a small community. It is how I grew up, and Newtown is kind of like that. Everyone knows their neighbors and they are usually all very helpful if help is needed. Another best part about the town for me is volunteering for Weaving Newtown, which belongs to the Newtown Cultural Arts Commission.

Who has been the greatest influence in your life? My husband, Ingo.

Who is your favorite musical artist? I like Bruce Springsteen.

Do you have a favorite TV show? For a while it was the Big Bang Theory, but now I don’t have one.

What is the greatest piece of advice you have ever been given? “Don’t do to others what you don’t want to be done to yourself.” My parents always taught me that, and I’ve passed it on to my children, too.

What is something you cannot live without? My family. I love having my husband and kids around.

What is your proudest accomplishment? I would say all my hand-weaving prizes. I belong to the Handweavers Guild of Connecticut, and they have a biannual show. I won first prize twice for some of my woven items. I am also working on a Master Weaver Program. Hopefully, I can complete all my required woven items by the end of the year.

Hanna Roehrs is this week's Snapshot profile.
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply