Evolution Of The Schick Razor, During Historical Society Open House
Newtown Historical Society will host an open house at its headquarters, The Matthew Curtiss House, on Sunday, November 16.
During the open house, John Glaberson, son of Martin Glaberson, will share with sketches and actual razors designed by his father while working at Schick between 1948 and 1977. As Creative Director for Schick, Martin Glaberson designed the product, packaging, point of sale displays, and the advertising for their line of razors.
All are invited to discover how razors have changed over the years, evolving into the designs used today.
The public is invited to visit and tour the building at 44 Main Street any time between noon and 4 pm. Admission is free; however, donations are welcomed and appreciated. Junior and senior docents will be available to answer questions about the house and its history, as well as provide guided tours by request.
The house-museum, a fine example of Connecticut saltbox architecture, was constructed circa 1750 and purchased by Matthew Curtiss Jr in 1781. The historical society purchased the building and property in 1970,and restored the house to its original condition.
The historical society is a non-profit, all volunteer organization. New members are always welcome and volunteers are needed to help organize and run the society’s events.