Log In

Reset Password

NHS National Merit Scholarship Commended Students Announced



Text Size

Newtown High School Principal Dr Kimberly Longobucco announced the names of students honored as Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program at the school on October 1.

The students were gathered in the school’s counseling department for the announcement.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, students entered into the nationwide competition for recognition and awards by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The 50,000 highest performers were qualified as Commended Students (roughly 34,000 students) and Semifinalists, the 16,000 highest performers. NHS’s Semifinalists were announced at the school on September 17 as Juan Mendez and Isha Mendiratta.

The Commended Students earned a letter of commendation. Longobucco read the names of the Commended Students: Rachel Arena, Mia Hochstetler, Sean Kenny, Jeremy Pankow, John Pierce, Melissa Schnee, Amanda Stowe, and Aidan Waaler.

“Congratulations,” Longobucco said.

Education Reporter Eliza Hallabeck can be reached at eliza@thebee.com.

Newtown High School’s National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students, from left, are Melissa Schnee, John Pierce, Sean Kenny, Aidan Waaler, Mia Hochstetler, Jeremy Pankow, Rachel Arena, and Amanda Stowe. NHS Principal Dr Kimberly Longobucco, right, announced the news on October 1. —Bee Photo, Hallabeck
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply