Log In

Reset Password

Costumed Riders (And Horses) Enjoy NBLA’s Frost On The Pumpkin Hunter Pace



Text Size

Riders and horses were dressed in costume for the Newtown Bridle Lands Association’s (NBLA) Frost on the Pumpkin Hunter Pace on October 23.

The day was overcast with showers possible, but the mood at a large sheep meadow on Mount Nebo Road was sunny. Almost 100 horses and their riders showed up for this annual event that has taken place since 1978. Equestrians from area towns, many of whom wear Halloween costumes, look forward to this long ride through Newtown’s varied terrain.

On that morning, each team received their team numbers, mounted up, and walked to the starting line. Every few minutes a team headed out to ride the well-marked trail that took the riders through a large portion of southwestern Newtown. The course was over eight miles in length and took several hours to complete. However, it took months of cutting, trimming, and mowing to get the trails to their present state. The NBLA receives special permission from over 20 landowners to allow the pace to cross their property. It is a huge undertaking but the result is a fun event for riders of all ages. This pace is the keystone of the NBLA’s mission of promoting horseback riding and trail preservation in Newtown.

More than 25 volunteers gave their time, including officers from the Second Company Governor’s Horse Guard who handled parking, and Grand Prix Equine which donated a coffee and treats table, as well as many individuals who manned road crossings, timing, and sales.

The event’s category winners are as follows:

Junior: Nate Hoag, Jill Hoag, and Alison Sartor.

Western: Liraine Marshall, Ana McMillan, and Shelby McChord.

Hunt: Jackie Pender and Laura Mailloux.

Costume: Pom-Pom Ponies — Edyta Reyher, Vicki Splinder, and Sarah McConnachie.

Pleasure: Christine and John Barry.

The NBLA Frost on the Pumpkin Hunter Pace Costume winners are the Pom-Pom Ponies. Pictured are Edyta Reyher, Vicki Splinder, and Sarah McConnachie. —photo courtesy Lucy Prybylski
The event’s Pleasure winners are John Barry and Christine Barry. —photo courtesy Lucy Prybylski
Comments are open. Be civil.

Leave a Reply