Features


Snapshot: Amy Polinsky

Published: January 12, 2018 at 12:00 am

Print

Amy Polinsky is this week's Snapshot profile.
Amy Polinsky is this week's Snapshot profile.
Occupation: I am a small business owner. I own Basil Rose Boutique, which opened in September. I had a successful fitness studio in Florida, where my family and I lived before moving here. I think everyone assumed I would open another here, but after being in town and hearing from some of my new friends how we didn't have a place to shop besides the mall, I thought I'd open a boutique. People always told me that I was really good with fashion and my husband is on television, so I've been styling him for the past six years, so it was a good fit.

Family: I have three young children. Cash is 9, Lennyn is 7, and my wild-child, Lola, is 3. My husband Matt and I have been together for over ten years. He is a WWE announcer for Raw and SmackDown. He was a wrestler before retiring from injuries and has been a commentator for three years now.

Pets: We have two dogs. Our rescue, Bull, is a bull terrier and Dharma is a Shiba Inu who looks like a baby fox.

How long have you lived in Newtown? We moved here about a year and a half ago. WWE's headquarters is in Stamford, so we came up here to look at houses anywhere within an hour that had good schools, and we just fell in love with Newtown.

What do you like to do in your free time? I work out a lot and go to CrossFit Hook'd in Sandy Hook as much as possible.

Do you have a favorite book? I'm not sure if it's my favorite, but I'm reading a book right now called Women Who Run With The Wolves. It's about how women can be fierce and protective, similar to wolves in the wild.

What is your favorite travel destination? Basically anywhere I can do outdoor activities like hiking and white-water rafting. We like Asheville, North Carolina, a lot; I love San Francisco, and Denver is great.

What is the best part about Newtown? Everything. I just love the closeness. It feels very similar to my hometown, which is a very small community where everyone knew each other and looked out for one another.

If you could spend the day with one person, who would you choose and why? Elon Musk. He's so smart and has been so successful in his life. I think he would be really interesting to talk to because he's so business minded.

Who is your favorite musical artist? It depends on my mood. I like everything from Halsey to Marilyn Manson to Johnny Cash to Tom Waits to Rancid. Everything except for country.

Do you have a favorite TV show? I don't watch a ton of TV, but if I do it's Shameless.

What is your favorite food? Wings - as hot as hot can be with tons of ranch dressing.

What is the greatest piece of advice you have ever been given? "Follow your heart but take your brain with you."

What is something you cannot live without? Definitely coffee. I drink black coffee. I don't want any flavors, I just want it strong.

What is your proudest accomplishment? Being a mom. There are lots of things I am proud of - like the store and having graduated with a master's degree with a 4.0 GPA - but being a mom allows me to wake up every morning feeling proud of my kids. I love them.

Change Text Size:

This Week's Poll

Newtown Cultural Arts Commission is presenting or coordinating on six weeks of special events. Which event are you looking forward to the most? (Visit our Features page for a full story with details about all of these events.)

“In The Bag” exhibition, on view to September 28
0% (0 votes)
The Lords of 52nd Street concert, September 14
0% (0 votes)
Newtown Arts Festival weekend, September 15-16
50% (1 vote)
“An Evening of the Arts,” September 15
50% (1 vote)
“The Fox on the Fairway” production by Town Players of Newtown, weekends September 21-October 13
0% (0 votes)
“The Main Street Replica Project,” launching September 25
0% (0 votes)
Someday Cinema Series screenings of “The Blues Brothers,” September 30
0% (0 votes)
Photography display “In Our Rearview Mirror” by Marleen Cafarelli, et al, October 1-30
0% (0 votes)
“Love, Laughter, and Rhubarb” with Tinky Weisblat, October 3
0% (0 votes)
Newtown Day, October 6
0% (0 votes)
The 3rd Annual Newtown-Sandy Hook Restaurant Week, October 8-14
0% (0 votes)
Basket weaving workshop with Tina Puckett, October 13
0% (0 votes)
“Courageous Conversations in A Complex World,” October 17
0% (0 votes)
Live at ETH: David Wax Museum concert, October 19
0% (0 votes)
The 2nd Annual Fall Carnival at Fairfield Hills, October 19-21
0% (0 votes)
Connecticut Author’s Reading Series, October 21
0% (0 votes)
Natalie’s Open Mic, October 21
0% (0 votes)
“The Wordsmiths,” October 24
0% (0 votes)
Pianist Konstanza Chernov, October 28
0% (0 votes)
Someday Cinema Series double feature screenings of “Bride of Frankenstein” and “The Beast with Five Fingers,” October 29
0% (0 votes)
Total votes: 2